Memphis in May Fest Al Green

Posted: May 7, 2009 in Music
Tags:
 

Sitting on the plane thinking about the weekend that was….”Memphis in May” did not disappoint …it rained!!!! Right on schedule 🙂 …I was sitting in the hotel (watching the Kentucky Derby! Mine that Bird! What a race! A “real live” cinderella story) wondering if it was going to rain all day, and definitely not Sun, when I fly out..Dont really dig flying too much!….Well it did last all day, it poured down when Elvis Costello returned for an encore which he began with a cascading rendition of “singing in the rain“. I joined Al Green on stage to follow. The rain definitely put a damper on the evening (literally) it caused some delays and some technical difficulties….I tell you, it really sucked all of my excitement out initially, but the crowd was in good spirits chanting, “Al Green, Al Green!”  Show started with the fan fare intro of L-O-V-E… Rev proceeds to give the people 3 new songs from his grammy winning album including….”You Got the Love That I Need,”the band really likes this record. Of course the classics that we all love followed. Ironically when we started to play “How can you mend a broken heart…..how can you stop the rain from falling down”…Crazy! The rain let up, almost tear dropped out of the sky. I wish I could have taken a picture…I won’t forget how that looked! Nice having you on tour with me. Next stop Atlanta, Chastain Park! 
Comments
  1. […] on their second album. Usefull Posts Al Green / ?uestlove – Thought it Out | 2dopeboyz…Memphis in May Fest Al Green « Life With A “Vibe”…Will the real Al Green please stand up? « Avant Front…anyman.com : I have accepted Al Green […]

Leave a Reply

